Quick Update

Have just managed to resolve net issues and some site problems, which were preventing me from blogging. As a result I have a huge backlog of posts in various degrees of preparation to clear over the next few weeks. Fear not, they will all eventually see the light of day, but with my schedule getting hairier every month I can’t promise any dates. Anyway, here a potted update on what’s been happening.

First the big news: I have scratched the surface of comics creation and with great trepidation submitted two self-drawn stories, one called ‘Killer’ to Comix India, and another called ‘The Bookshop on the Hill’ to Drighanchoo. Both are very rough work and I can see I still have a long way to go, but they’re a start. The Killer story is complete and will be out in the forthcoming issue of Comix India (vol. 2, theme: Girl Power). It’s 26 pages long, and it’s about a girl who marries a rock star and is then accused of killing him. I originally intended to leave the pencils untouched and just photoshop to clean the white space, but i think I overdid the curves, making the pages too dark. ‘The Bookshop on the Hill’ looks more ‘natural’ as I didn’t do much with it after scanning (partly due to lack of time and the impending deadline). I’m happier with it but there’s still a lot to do. I think it’s going to take me at least five or six whole stories worth of hard practice before I get a decent style going, and that means a lot of work and time has to be invested. But it is great fun, and if I could I would draw all day.

Sigh.

Bharath Murthy very kindly accepted it for publication, though he said the central killing was ‘strange’. He’s right, of course: I don’t think I was fully in control of the story telling, but hope. Here are the first seven pages in a low res format: to read the whole story online, or to order copies, go to http://www.comixindia.com/ as soon as Vol. 2 is out, which will hopefully be soon.

Killer page 1

Killer title page

Killer page 2

Killer page 2

Killer page 3

Killer page 3

Killer page 4

Killer page 4

Killer page 5

Killer page 5

Killer page 6

Killer page 6

Killer page 7

Killer page 7

Preview of ‘The Bookshop on the Hill’ to follow.

About Rimi B. Chatterjee

All material displayed on this blog is copyrighted and owned by Rimi B. Chatterjee http://rimibchatterjee.net/
This entry was posted in Graphic stories, My Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Update

  1. pinaki says:

    i saw the drighanchoo contribution and liked the casual style…if you go on to develop it you will have a lot of winners at hand…

  2. fafnir says:

    Great beginning! 🙂 🙂

  3. Rimi B. Chatterjee says:

    @ pinaki. ‘casual’ is a very kind description of my scribbles :).
    Lack of time made it a bit messier than I had hoped. Let’s hope the next pages are better!
    @ fafnir. Thankee.

Leave a Reply

